I got my Kindle in mid-June of last year. In the first eleven months, what have I been reading? Italics are things I bought and I still haven’t finished.

  1. Dragons of the Hourglass Mage: Lost Chronicles, Volume Three
  2. The Orc King: Transitions, Book I
  3. The Pirate King: Transitions, Book II
  4. The Ghost King: Transitions, Book III
  5. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
  6. Homeland: The Legend of Drizzt, Book I
  7. Adapt: Why Success Always Starts with Failure
  8. Ender’s Game
  9. The Count of Monte Cristo
  10. And Then There Were None
  11. Gauntlgrym: Neverwinter, Book I
  12. Neverwinter: Neverwinter Saga, Book II
  13. Death on the Nile: Hercule Poirot Investigates
  14. Hackers: Heroes of the Computer Revolution
  15. The Servant of the Shard: The Sellswords, Book I
  16. The Halfling’s Gem: The Legend of Drizzt, Book VI
  17. The Best Things in Life : A Guide to What Really Matters
  18. Sinuhé El Egipcio
  19. A Spell for Chameleon
  20. Bio of a Space Tyrant
  21. Bio of a Space Tyrant Vol. 2. Mercenary
  22. Bio of a Space Tyrant Vol. 3. Politician
  23. Bio of a Space Tyrant Vol. 4. Executive
  24. Frankenstein
  25. Bio of a Space Tyrant Vol. 6. The Iron Maiden
  26. The Name of the Wind: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day One
  27. Catching Fire
  28. Mockingjay
  29. The Wise Man’s Fear: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Day Two
  30. Don Quijote
  31. On a Pale Horse
  32. The Works of Edgar Allan Poe – Volume 1
  33. Thinking, Fast and Slow

So I think I’m putting the thing to good use, with a very heavy leaning to fantasy and science fiction. 18% are “in flight”, which is no horrible, but probably reflects the fact that when something new and exciting comes up, some books are easier to go back and resume than others.

Also, when I find an author I like, I tend to buy more things from the same author, preferably but no always in a series of books. That’s more likely than the other way around – if I find I series I like, I may not get the books that are written by someone other than the ‘starting’ author.

And that’s enough self-learning for today. Time to enjoy a rare sunny Seattle day now.

